• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer freezing problem! Overheating?!

th0r

My computer is as follows:

MS Windows XP Home SP3
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+, 2.0 GB Corsair XMAS2 RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT

My computer has been freezing for what seems like ever since I built it. I reformatted it in January/December ish, and it eventually started freezing again randomly. It will freeze when I search the internet, while I'm playing music/video, while I'm playing a game, while I'm not doing anything, etc. It's all random. There is no pattern to it.

I tried updating my drivers. But I'm pretty sure most of them are up to date.

I'm thinking this is a Mobo or PSU problem, but I have no knowledge on how to figure out if its true. This is a custom built computer, so when I was doing research on how to fix freezing problems, I came across information on PSU not sending out enough power? Or too much?

When I talked to my friend who helped me built the computer, about the PSU potential issue, he confirmed that it probably isn't the PSU because he hand picked the parts I was going to use and my power supply is sufficient for what system I have I guess (Enermax Model ELT500AWT).

So I'm completely confused to approach this thing. I used CCleaner multiple times to fix any problems with the registry, but the freezing problem is still persistent. Happening multiple times every day and requiring a restart....

I also used Windows Memory Diagnostic and another memory diagnostic tool (I forgot the name), last fall multiple times and two days ago -- both came up with no issues with my RAM either.

Any information you need to help me, I can provide. Please help me fix this problem! I would appreciate it very much!