• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU PL1 limit and TVB causing Power Limit Throttling

BusinessFrog

so i am kind of new to this whole ThrottleStop thing and i watched some tutorials and came up with my own settings but whenever i run the cpu on the TS bench on all threads normal priority 960M size it always goes super slow and power limit throttles and when i look into the limits section its mostly PL1 red, TVB and EDP yellow and it isnt consistent at all sometimes both PL1 and PL2 limits are yellow and sometimes THERMAL and EDP become red but it all starts with TVB being red then going back to yellow

my goal is to get this damn laptop to be cool while not losing too much performance so could y'all help me out with this?

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-07-07 154718.png
    Screenshot 2024-07-07 154718.png
    3.5 KB · Views: 52
  • Screenshot 2024-07-07 154727.png
    Screenshot 2024-07-07 154727.png
    72.8 KB · Views: 54
  • Screenshot 2024-07-07 154738.png
    Screenshot 2024-07-07 154738.png
    44.6 KB · Views: 55
  • Screenshot 2024-07-07 154757.png
    Screenshot 2024-07-07 154757.png
    23.8 KB · Views: 42
  • Screenshot 2024-07-07 155309.png
    Screenshot 2024-07-07 155309.png
    3.9 KB · Views: 48

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
You can clear the Thermal Velocity Boost box in the FIVR window to get rid of TVB throttling. TVB throttling only slows the CPU down 100 MHz so it is not the end of the world. It is OK to leave this as is.

PL1 power limit throttling is a fact of life with your CPU. If you increase the PL1 power limit to get rid of power limit throttling, the CPU will thermal throttle instead of power limit throttle. You will be no further ahead.