• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU started constantly throttling today...

ludibert

Good Evening,

I have an HP Pavilion 15 Laptop with an i7-8750H inside of it and I mainly use it for producing music, watching videos and rarely gaming.
As of today, I noticed Windows started lagging, so I checked if Task Manager had some answers... The processor's clock speed was stuck at 0.79GHz and so a quick search got me to select a different power plan, which got rid of the 0.79GHz limit. But now virtually every time I do something on the laptop the clock speed is around 0.79-1.4GHz and when I don't do anything at all it goes up to 2.8-3.2GHz. The result is a terrible amount of lag and overloads in my music software and an overall slow-down.
I installed ThrottleStop and it almost constantly shows POWER errors. I'm not an expert and don't really know what I am doing at this point but I have tried lowering my power throttling limits - without success in fixing the problem. Temperatures are very cool so it cannot be a thermal issue.
Any kind of help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-08-22 230925.png
    Screenshot 2024-08-22 230925.png
    358.7 KB · Views: 8
  • 2024-08-22.txt
    344.9 KB · Views: 5

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
You can try checking the Short Power PL2 check box in the TPL window but I do not think that will make any difference.

Did you install a BIOS update recently or perhaps a Windows update?

The low ball turbo power limits are being sent to the CPU via an embedded controller EC. When the EC power limits are lower than the MSR and MMIO power limits, the EC power limits can force the CPU to slow down to as low as its minimum speed.

Temperatures are very cool so it cannot be a thermal issue.