• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I can't figure out how to stop pl1 and pl2 from throttling on my i7-8550U

fatojanota

I've been using throttlestop for a while now but could never figure out how to stop pl1 and pl2 throttling. I repasted my cpu and gpu last week and that helped a little with temps (it still is thermal throttling, mostly during the day, because of how hot it is where I live and my cooler isn't one of the bests). But I'm still having trouble with the power limits. Also, 3 days ago I was having red EDP OTHER limits on CORE, GPU and RING even while idle, but I managed tyo fix that somehow.
So, as I've said, my only problems now are the power limits, any help or explanation will be appreciated since I'm not an expert.
I'll attatch my configs and logs
1726944031625.png
1726944086328.png
1726944120080.png
1726944149021.png
1726944203383.png

Attachments

• 2024-09-21.txt
    142.2 KB · Views: 18

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
What laptop model do you have? Not all power limit throttling problems can be easily solved. Some manufacturers program an embedded controller (EC) to force feed low ball power limits to the CPU. Your laptop is ignoring the MSR and MMIO turbo power limits that ThrottleStop has access to.

Intel gave the 8550U a 15W TDP rating.

Your laptop manufacturer programmed the EC to limit the CPU to 15W during any long term test. It might go higher during the short term but long term, your computer is power limit throttling right at 15W. There is no easy solution for this.

Sometimes it gets throttled back to as little as 5W or 6W. It sure looks like a Dell laptop. Dell used some excessive power limit throttling schemes like this so you cannot even run your 15W CPU at the full Intel 15W TDP limit. ThrottleStop has no solution for many sad sack Dell laptops.