• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE after BIOS unlock [SOLVED]

brodo

I own an Acer Nitro5 515-75 gaming laptop and lately I got obsessed with lowering its CPU voltage due to insane overheating.
came accross this BIOS mod on youtube which would unlock an advanced version of the standard factory BIOS.

Long story short it works, problem is, I might have set something wrong cause now the C: drive cannot be found.
System gives BSOD, if I enter cmd I can only see X: drive. can't repair, reinstall, nothing.

I'm sure it has something to do with the SATA connection or AHCI settings, a topic I'm not good at.
After many trials and errors in the bios settings I managed to set something right cause pc booted normally. problem was it couldn't recognize the ext GPU, so I made a bios reset: worst error I could make. now it's misconfigured again and I have no idea what I touched.

can I get help on this issue? thanks

i7 11800H
RTX 3060
16BG DDR4
1TB WD NVMe

Last edited:

brodo

hi, I tried already to restore it but bios is not recognizing any external usb drives atm

thanks for your reply

System Name Regular PC | Server HP Z440
Processor 9700k | E5-2698v3
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X-CF | Stock mobo
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 rev. B | Stock HS
Memory 32 GB (8x4) | 112 GB (8x2 + 16x6)
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super | K4000
Storage 970 EVO+ 1TB | 860 1TB x2
Display(s) XV340CK x2, 1080p x2
Power Supply Corsair RM750x | Corsair RM750e
Software Pop!_OS | Proxmox
It's nothing to do with ahci or ide sata settings, that will cause issues like, attempting to boot, showing you the loading-orbs and w10/w11 icon, then bsod after a few seconds.

What is likely the issue is csm/legacy boot vs uefi boot.

You can use the recovery environment to locate your partitions. If the recovery environment let's you use diskpart: diskpart> select disk 0
Diskpart> list partition