• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Legion Pro 7i, i9-13900HX. PL2 limit reason in log file

daigororo37

When running CB R23, I'm getting PL2 limits in the log file and I can see CPU is throttling (unless I am reading this log file incorrectly). Are there any settings I have set incorrectly? I am new to undervolting, any pointers would be appreciated. Thanks!

Log file:

Screenshot 2024-04-25 160501.png

Throttlestop 9.6 Settings

Note:
P Cache undervolt value same as Core. E Cache -50 mV (I might reset this back to 0 actually).

Screenshot 2024-04-25 160516.png

Screenshot 2024-04-25 160530.png

Screenshot 2024-04-25 160642.png

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
I can see CPU is throttling
You are seeing this correctly. The FID column in the log file is down to 38.xx instead of 50+. 3800 MHz compared to 5000+ MHz is throttling.

PL2 power limit throttling is the cause and this is happening right at 190 Watts. In the TPL window in the Power Limit Controls section you can clear the Disable Controls check box and you can increase the Short Power PL2 limit higher than 190W. This can be used to get beyond the 190W limit but instead of power limit throttling, you will end up with thermal throttling. Inadequate cooling is costing you about 1200 MHz during Cinebench testing.

It looks like your 13900HX is just a hot running CPU or your room temperature is very hot. The Legion Pro comes with excellent cooling. 190W is just too much heat to dissipate, even for a well designed laptop.

I might reset this back to 0 actually
That would be a mistake. Less voltage is less heat. More voltage is more heat.

If your -140 mV undervolt is not stable, try setting the mV Boost feature to 150 or so. That can improve stability which can allow you to run a large undervolt reliably. There are no other options when you are hitting 190W.

daigororo37

Inadequate cooling