• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

radial capacitor question

brcisna

Hello All,

Mr Newbie here,,,with firesuit,,,being put on,,, :)
Purchased an Dell Precision T7810 'as is',,,knowing the unit did not post. I purchased the box,,,from gentleman that bought the unit new.

Done the usual ,, remove /move ram,, remove one/swap cpu locattions,,,dual cpu,,, Put in new cmos battery.... soo,,,
The unit powers on,, the status light on power button is always white...no amber blinks, no beep codes . Never gets a display. The PSU,test will run the cpu fans full blast,,so i think the PSU is kosher.

After much wranging,,,probing,,yada,,yada,,, i thought it had a faulty electrolitic capacitor,,,, desoldered,,it,,,and after going back and forth,,come to find out,,,
If i probe the negative pad of the suspect cap location ,,,with ohmmeter,,,,and probe to ground pad on the mobo,,there is no continuity... I deslodered a cap sitting right next to this cap,,and that negative pad to a mobo ground pad has continuity.
Can anyone explain,,,what may be going on here.... Keep in mind,,,both caps are clear off of the motherboard,,,only probing the mobo,,,pads themself.

If i plug in a mouse the mouse blinks for a second then goes out. My usb voltage /amps checker shows 5 volts at usb.

As an aside,,,Have probed the mobo,,out of the case,,,,in diode mode,,,continuity mode,,and checking rail voltages,,, and cannot really detect anything funky other than this no continuity on the ground pad debacle.

Any ideas?

TIA

Last edited:
System Name Z77 Rev. 1
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x G.Skill F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 Pro
Display(s) Samsung 28" UE590 UHD
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 600W Titanium
Mouse EVGA TORQ X10
Keyboard Leopold Tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit