• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ThrottleStop does not Stop Throttling CPU Lenovo Laptop

asdfghjklz

Fore-note: I am not good at modifying my laptop, and usually just search random online tutorials : P

Problem:
Lenovo Laptop undesired CPU throttling at 75-80 degrees instead of the desired 97 degrees, CPU speed drops from >4.2 GHz to 0.8-1.2 GHz.

Tried and failed:
Restarting
Modifying BIOS settings for performance
Modifying Windows Registry to modify power plan for performance (reverted it now)
Using alternative software like Quick CPU (did not work, probably due to not having locked prochot option for Lenovo laptops)

System Info:
Power plan is at performance
I do not have WSL other than in Sys32
Screenshot 2024-07-19 145748.png

ThrottleStop (settings):
Screenshot 2024-07-19 150055.png

Note I did not touch any buttons other than "Options" and "Limits" (FIVR, TPL, etc. are left untouched).

Records:
Before resource intensiveness:
ThrottleStop log: 2024-07-019 Not Resource Intensive.txt
Screenshot 2024-07-19 155036.png

After resource intensiveness:
ThrottleStop log: 2024-07-19 Resource Intensive.txt
1721421875693.png

Note:
ThrottleStop has worked on this laptop before, but after reinstalling windows, clearing the D-drive, it seems to RARELY work anymore. It does work, but so inconsistently that I've decided to post the issue to the forums.

Fun note:
Laptop can reach 93-97 degrees on its own without ThrottleStop which is pretty interesting, namely when downloading (not running) Genshin Impact. This makes me think that it is the laptop that works when ThrottleStop seems to work.

Lets talk solvency, any ideas?

Attachments

• 2024-07-19 Resource Intensive.txt
    13.8 KB · Views: 4
  • 2024-07-19 Not Resource Intensive.txt
    12.4 KB · Views: 4
Solution