• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA X58 SLI3 & Xeon W3680 build & OC

Dropped the multiplier down to 25 from 26 and it started plus passed both test.
So that dropped the proc speed down from 166*26 (4316) to 166*25 (4150) correct?

It's been my limited experience that over 4.2Ghz is when these chips start craving the voltage if they have the thirst. It's also been my experience with the 5 or 6 of these family chips (32nm 6core) that they vary wildly between chips too - not a bad thing, just that don't get disheartened if someone says "well mine only needed 1.35v to run 4.6 (ssuuuurrreee)" while another is "at 1.5v mine still won't run 4.5 stable (raises hand)"

I'm also the first to say, I'm no expert at x58 overclocking either, but by how your chip seems to be behaving try setting 1.4v vcore and then see how much you can get from that. If you can get a sweet spot then try working vcore down to something like 1.38v and around there is probably easy running/cooling.

It's odd that raising QPI/VTT voltage (the onboard memory controller) caused your system to be less stable - normally that's one of the voltages these chips really crave (beware it's also the easiest to KILL these procs with too) which is why I'm thinking maybe your vCore of 1.35v isn't enough vCore over 4.2Ghz.

I'm just guessing, hopefully others here can confirm and/or tell me i'm insane ;p

Also, just as a point of reference - the screenshot I posted of the W3690 above don't take those as recommended voltages. Running 1.54v with a VTT of 1.43v is me literally being a jackass to that proc and it's still not really stable - running rosetta@home on it the machine will "wander off" after a few days which is a fail for me. But that chip also seems to wall at 4450mhz where even stupid volts (1.6v - do NOT do this) and windows won't load consistently so...