• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OEM technician needing advice about getting into custom gaming hardware repair.

Tyler55

Hello.

First time poster. Thank you for letting me join the forum.

I've been a self-employed computer technician for approximately 25 years. I wasn't working on gaming systems, but now I'm going to start doing so. I'm looking for some tips and suggestions to get me started. Especially in the hardware diagnostics area. Here are some of my questions and/or concerns:

1) I stopped using software memory diagnostics because I found that they were accurate if the ram failed the test. However, often times when the ram passed the test, the ram turned out to be defective. Due to that, if I suspect a ram problem, I switch out the ram if it's one stick, or try one ram stick at a time if it has more than one stick. Is it ok to continue using that ram switch out method with the gaming systems?

2) If I suspect a GPU issue and want to switch it out, is it ok to use a basic GPU just for testing purposes? I expect to have to reduce the resolution when testing with a basic GPU. I was thinking of something basic like a RX550 or 1050Ti. Would either those be ok for testing purposes?

3) If I narrow down a hardware issue to the mobo or CPU, Is the only way to narrow that down further mean swapping the CPU?

4) If a gaming computer shuts down and takes a minute or two to turn back on, then can I conclude that it's an overheating problem like I do with regular computers?

5) I've come across programs like GPU-Z and 3D Mark. Are they just benchmarking programs, or can they identify hardware problems?

6) It seems diagnosing these gaming computers will be much more extensive and time consuming compared to what I'm used to. As such, if you're a paid gaming technician, how and what do you charge for diagnostics?